Wednesday, July 9, 2014

23 Big Ten Hockey Athletes Earn Distinguished Scholar Awards

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced on Wednesday that 683 student-athletes have earned the Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award. The list includes student-athletes from every institution and 37 different sports who have recorded a minimum grade-point average (GPA) of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year.
Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Similar to the Academic All-Big Ten honor, Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution. However, the Distinguished Scholar Award encompasses only student-athletes with a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year, excluding summer school. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student-athlete’s academic career.

Zach Hyman, So., Torono, Ontario, history major
Luke Moffatt, Sr., Paradise Valley, Ariz., business administration major