Monday, June 30, 2014

Stanley Cup Dreams and NHL Hopefuls

Future Wolverine Dylan Larkin was selected 15th overall in the 2014 NHL Entry Draft

Future Pros

The Big Ten was fully represented in Philadelphia June 27 and 28 for the 2014 NHL Entry Draft. In total, 13 current and future Big Ten players were selected. Minnesota's four-chosen players was the third-highest total for any NCAA school with Hockey East's Boston College leading the way. Another interesting note: only two players of the 13 selected were chosen by the same team.

Dylan Larkin
-- Michigan commit 
Defenseman, USNTDP, 1st Rd., (15) by Detroit Red Wings

Joshua Jacobs -- Michigan State commit
Defenseman, USAH Indiana Ice, 2nd Rd., (41) by New Jersey Devils

Ryan Collins -- Minnesota commit
Defenseman, USNTDP, 2nd Rd., (47) by Columbus Blue Jackets

Jack Doughty -- Wisconsin commit
Defenseman, USNTDP, 2nd Rd., (51) by Nashville Predators

Jack Glover -- Minnesota commit
Defenseman, USNTDP, 3rd Rd., (69) by Winnipeg Jets

Zach Nagelvoort -- Current Michigan player
Goaltender, Michigan, 4th Rd., (111) by Edmonton Oilers

Steven Johnson -- Minnesota commit
Defenseman, USHL Omaha Lancers, 4th Rd., (120) by Los Angeles Kings

Matt Berkovitz -- Wisconsin commit
Defenseman, Ashwaubenon High School, 5th Rd., (123) by Anaheim Ducks

Dakota Joshua -- Ohio State commit
Forward, USHL Sioux Falls Stampede, 5th Rd., (128) by Toronto Maple Leafs

Tyler Nanne -- Ohio State commit
Forward, Edina High School, 5th Rd., (142) by New York Rangers

Miguel Fidler -- Ohio State commit
Forward, Edina High School, 5th Rd., (143) by Florida Panthers

Matt Ustaski -- Wisconsin commit
Forward, BCHL Langley Rivermen, 7th Rd., (192) by Winnipeg Jets

Jack Ramsey -- Minnesota commit
Forward, BCHL Penticton Vees, 7th Rd., (208)  by Chicago Blackhawks

Penn State was the only Big Ten school to not have a player selected this year.

B1G Draft History

  • There have been 141 Michigan alums to hear their name called in the 
  • There have been 18 first round picks that are former Wolverines
  • Jack Johnson is the highest Wolverine to be drafted. Johnson was taken third overall by Carolina in 2005.
  • In 2007, seven Michigan players were selected (Max Pacioretty, Aaron Palushaj, Louie Caporusso, Steve Kampfer, Matt Rust, Ben Winnett, Carl Hagelin). It was the most players to be called from the program in one year.
  • There has been a a Wolverine called in every year of the NHL Entry draft with the exception of 1979
  • Michigan's roster currently boasts 12 NHL draftees: Michael Downing (Florida), Brenna Serville (Winnipeg), Phil Di Giuseppe (Carolina), Luke Moffatt (Colorado), Zach Hyman (Florida), Cristoval 'Boo' Nieves (New York Rangers),  Tyler Motte (Chicago), JT Compher (Buffalo), Andrew Copp (Winnipeg), Nolan De Jong (Minnesota), Alex Guptill (Dallas), Mac Bennett (Montreal).
  • Michigan had 14 alums playing in the NHL this season: Jacob Trouba (Winnipeg), Chris Summers (Phoenix), David Moss (Phoenix), Eric Nystrom (Nashville), Max Pacioretty (Montreal), Mike Komisarek (Carolina), Jon Merrill (New Jersey), Al Montoya (Winnipeg), Jack Johnson (Columbus), Carl Hagelin (New York Rangers), Luke Glendening (Detroit), Andrew Cogliano (Anaheim), Mike Cammalleri (Calgary), Mike Brown (San Jose).

Michigan State *

  • There are 17 former Spartans that played in the NHL this season: Mike Weaver (Montreal), Justin Abdelkader (Detroit), David Booth (Vancouver), Derek Grant (Ottawa), Adam Hall (Philadelphia Flyers), Shawn Horcoff (Dallas), Duncan Keith (Chicago), Tim Kennedy (Phoenix), Torey Krug (Boston), John-Michael Liles (Carolina), Drew Miller (Detroit), Ryan Miller (St. Louis), Chris Mueller (Dallas), Jeff Petry (Edmonton), Corey Potter (Boston), Jim Slater (Winnipeg), Corey Tropp (Columbus).


  • Gophers have produced 189 total NHL draft picks including 19 first round picks.
  • At least one Gopher has been drafted in 39 of the last 40 NHL Entry Drafts dating back to 1974 with 2001 being the only exception.
  • Minnesota featured nine draft picks in the 2007 NHL Entry Draft (Patrick White, Jim O’Brien, Nico Sacchetti, Mike Hoeffel, Jake Hansen, Cade Fairchild, Kent Patterson, Taylor Matson and Nick Larson) – a program record.
  • There were 16 Gopher hockey alums in the NHL 2013-14 season: Keith Ballard (Minnesota), Nick Bjugstad (Florida), Alex Goligoski (Dallas), Erik Haula (Minnesota), Erik Johnson (Colorado), Phil Kessel (Toronto), Nick Leddy (Chicago), Jordan Leopold (St. Louis), Paul Martin (Pittsburgh), Aaron Ness (New York Islanders), Kyle Okposo (New York Islanders), Nate Schmidt (Washington), Jordan Schroeder (Vancouver), Thomas Vanek (Montreal), Ryan Stoa (Washington) and Blake Wheeler (Winnipeg)
  • Currently Gophers have 12 NHL draftees: Taylor Cammarata (NYI), Hudson Fasching (LOS, rights traded to Buffalo Sabres), Michael Brodzinski (SJS), Brady Skjei (NYR), Jake Bischoff (NYI), Kyle Rau (FLA), Mike Reilly (CBJ), Seth Ambroz (CBJ), Travis Boyd (WSH), Adam Wilcox (TBL), Ben Marshall (DET), Christian Isackson (BUF).

Ohio State * 
  • Ryan Kesler (VAN), R.J. Umberger (PHI), Rod Pelley (NJD), Dave Steckel (WSH)

** Editor's Note: If you can help fill in the blanks/more information to complete these sections please let me know.

Stanley Cup Hopefuls

Thirty-seven Big Ten college hockey alums gave their try at Lord Stanley’s Cup. Not one of them will have their name etched on the championship trophy however. Here’s  a quick breakdown how many schools produced cup playoff players

Minnesota – 4
Wisconsin – 11
Michigan State – 11
Michigan – 7
Ohio State – 4
Penn State – 0

The Badgers’ were represented the farthest, with New York Rangers’ Derek Stepan and Ryan McDonagh pushing to the Stanley Cup Finals before falling to L.A. in Game 5. Here’s a look at the team breakdowns:

New York Rangers: Ryan McDonagh (Wisconsin), Derek Stepan (Wisconsin), Carl Hagelin (Michigan)

Chicago Blackhawks: Nick Leddy (Minnesota), Duncan Keith (Michigan State)

Minnesota Wild: Erik Haula (Minnesota), Dany Heatley (Wisconsin), Ryan Suter (Wisconsin)

Colorado Avalanche: Erik Johnson (Minnesota), Nate Guenin (Ohio State)

St. Louis Blues: Ryan Miller (Michigan State), Brian Elliot (Wisconsin)

Boston Bruins: Torey Krug (Michigan State), Corey Potter (Michigan State), Matt
Bartkowski (Ohio State)

Detroit Red Wings: Justin Abdelkader (Michigan State), Drew Miller (Michigan State), Brendon Smith (Wisconsin), Luke Glendening (Detroit)

Montreal Canadians: Mike Weaver (Michigan State), Thomas Vanek (Minnesota), Max Pacioretty (Michigan), Davis Drewski (Wisconsin), Rene Bourque (Wisconsin)

Columbus Blue Jackets: R.J. Umberger (Ohio State), Jack Skille (Wisconsin), Jack Johnson (Michigan), Corey Tropp (Michigan State), Cody Goleubef (Wisconsin)

Dallas Stars: Chris Mueller (Michigan State), Shawn Horcoff (Michigan State)

Anaheim Ducks: Andrew Cogliano (Michigan), David Steckel (Ohio State)

San Jose Sharks: Joe Pavelski (Wisconsin), Mike Brown (Michigan)

Philadelphia Flyers: Adam Hall (Michigan State)

Pittsburgh Penguins: Andrew Ebbett (Michigan)

1 comment:

  1. nice

    Fashion Leather Jackets | Faux Leather jacket | Celebrity Leather Jackets | Sheep Leather Jackets are Available
    at, leather jackets uk leather jackets usa quality leather jackets